First, Serena was *thisclose* to getting bounced by homegirl Sam Stosur. First, Serena, serving for the second set at 30-30, hit a clear let serve. Stosur returned it and ReRe, thinking it was a let, didn't even try for it. The umpire flat out missed the call. That gave Stosur a break point, which she converted and then went on to win the set in a tiebreak. As a quick aside, if it was a clear netcord, as it appears to have been, shouldn't Sam have told the umpire to replay it? I'm just saying.
Then in the third set, Stosur had three match points and proceeded to lose her nerve and double fault twice, let Serena break her serve, and then Serena went on to serve out the match. ReRe survives, 6-3, 6-7 (4), 7-5.
(1) Serena Williams (USA) d. Samantha Stosur (AUS) 63 67(4) 75
(5) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS) d. Peng Shuai (CHN) 36 61 63
(6) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) d. Sybille Bammer (AUT) 64 63